Houses of cards

It’s been pretty quiet locally this February, not so many tractors up and down our little road. Indeed it’s too damned quiet Caruthers, I think the natives are getting frisky don’cha know. I think they’re up to something and are going to follow the Dutch example.

Still, there’s more than enough to keep me and Mrs S busy. With luck we’ll have the two main sheds wired by the end of March. There’s the greenhouse to finish repairing. Then once I’ve finished stripping out all the rotten timber in another, there’s junction boxes to be fitted ready for the new cabling and I’ll wheel in a propane space heater to move the drying out process forwards before the next phase.

Not to mention her majesty telling me she wants a nice sheltered patio in the main garden. Somewhere sheltered where she can sit and supervise all the work. Oh Bill, wouldn’t it be a great idea if…?

The man you will see with the broomstick up his @rse is me.

However, when I’m not working I’ve given up watching our streaming services, and instead spent my time-outs diving into available scientific literature across a range of topics. As I have read, I’ve been astonished at the sheer amount of conditional statements buried in the text. Statements full of ‘might’, ‘could’ or ‘if’ then trumpeted as ‘proof’ of something or other. Studies which cite other studies which in themselves rely on cherry picked and codged together statistics. It’s a very, very deep rabbit hole.

It’s utterly fascinating. I can’t help but think a good deal of academic publishing is a massive house of cards. It’s even been noted in the BMJ, one of the most credible sources available. Half of research going unpublished? And then John P. A. Ioannidis 2005 study about how half of the studies published are junk? Then the media trumpet that ‘a study proves’ the latest piece of popular science? Even though if you check the citations, it does nothing of the sort?

However, sometimes the science self corrects. But not often enough for my liking.

I’m with Jackson Browne on this one.

4 thoughts on “Houses of cards”

  1. Once you’ve awakened and removed the MSM from your life, it takes but a short trip down the rabbit hole to come to the correct conclusion we’ve all been had.
    I came awake well over 30 years ago when i stopped reading what they amusingly call newspapers.

    For many years i studiously avoided all broadcast news and current affairs programs, took me a while to twig why they’re called programs mind, and around 10 years ago stopped watching television entirely, these days all we do is stream films etc but even that’s being ruined by the modern film makers and programmers and we find ourselves watching old classic stuff more and more.

    Once you’re awake you can’t help but feel rather alone in the outside world, thankfully my fine lady wife has always been wary of authority from her childhood, and rightly so.

    Some rural areas are still inhabited by normal people, at least the wilder less affluent parts.

    Watching our western world morphing rapidly into what we conspiracy theorists dared imagine would be the case isn’t a pleasurable ‘told you so’ experience.

    Like

    1. It is an ugly, ugly thing that has happened, and I suspect that there may be plans afoot to make it happen all over again.

      However, fool me once, etc…

      Like

Comments are closed.