Ooh, EU

Mrs S and I were going through the list of jobs next on the list for our little smallholding when she said; “Did you hear about Germany?”

“Yes.” Said I. “Farmers shutting down Berlin, the AfD and all that jazz.”

“They’re talking GEXIT.” She said.

“Well the French farmers are kicking off too.” I commented.

“Toujours en greve.” She joked, and reminded me of some of our own adventures in France. Although most of my memories of France are very positive. I’ve always found the French pretty hospitable. Even in Paris, with a few exceptions, which there always are, but I try not to let the odd @rsehole ruin my day. Even during the height of the terrorist scares I felt pretty comfortable. Even with submachine gun toting flics, seemingly on every street corner.

Which leads me to think that the EU powers that be must be a bit nervous, what with the Italians, Dutch, Germans and the French all kicking off. 

What happens if the anti-EU rebels win the day? Think of all those poor (Yeah, right) EU fat cats being thrown onto the streets after lording it over the rest of us peasants for decades. My heart bleeds. A quick chorus on the worlds tiniest violin seems in order at this point. The EU gravy trains arrival at the terminus may well be on the cards. 

For years we’ve heard the stories of MEP’s and their people clocking in on a Friday morning, suitcase in hand before immediately heading off for all expenses paid weekend jollies on the taxpayer Euro. I have personally witnessed streets closed off and restaurants emptied while these people have zoomed around in motorcades and kicked everyone else out. 

Well, I may have mentioned over the last few years that I felt we were living through the last days of the French ‘ancien regime‘ of pre revolutionary France. At least as far as the EU was concerned. BREXIT was the first brick from this tottering bureaucratic edifice, now it seems the whole shoddy enterprise is tottering down the last few furlongs to the knackers yard.

Of course I can see what went wrong; the bureaucrats own hubris is bringing the EU federalists and their dreams of ‘ever closer union’ down. From the crazy nonsense about ‘nut zero’ thinking that running everything off electrickery, windy mills and countryside throttling solar arrays was practical, to an ‘EU army’ and cross border Police force. Ironically, Europe was already too culturally ‘diverse’ for such notions.

Then there’s the embracing of the whole ‘woke’ insanity. Don’t they know we’re all different? Well I suppose when you are in a cosseted position of authority it’s easy to fall into the trap of thinking the people you rule over are your inferiors and should just shut up and sit in a corner. 

For anyone who reads history, this usually ends up with the ruling classes who forget that they owe their people a duty of care no longer needing a hat. I can cite the Peasants revolt (England) of 1381 where quite a number of tax-hungry nobles suddenly found themselves quite a bit shorter. Then there was Charles 1st of England (1649). Then we can look at what happened in the French revolution, and what happened to the extreme radicals like Robespierre. All are examples of what happens when top down enforcement meets outraged population.

The lesson of history is that those who forget that they rule for people as opposed to over them always risk being bloodily deposed. Like the WEF and the UN, those wannabe world dominators who think they are worthy of running other people’s lives. Hint; they aren’t.

As the last few years have amply demonstrated.

2 thoughts on “Ooh, EU”

  1. It’s Unelected Brussels that is the problem. I have been fighting them over my Fosse Septique for 17 years because it has got nothing wrong with it and I will fight them for another 17 years if I have to. You can’t be forced into doing what they say.

    Like

Comments are closed.