Amsterdam

Back in the ‘Dam again after a few years, enjoying the heat, feeling vaguely embarrassed by bozo Brits behaving like, well, bozo’s. It’s why being a dual passport holder can spare my blushes when faced by the offensive behaviour of idiots who are only there to get stoned because it’s all they know.

Frankly I think that marijuana should be legalised, licensed and taxed everywhere because it would cut the legs out from under the illegal drugs trade and take money away from organised crime. Not only that but it would cut the user base, because the illicit thrill of doing something naughty would be taken away and it wouldn’t be fun any more. Can’t stand the sickly smell of the stuff myself. The stuff in BC is less sweet smelling and is a bit more skunk like. My own drugs of choice are alcohol and caffeine and nowadays I’m modestly abstemious about those. At least until we hit the sarf a france to make a spirited attempt at draining the notorious wine lake. Then all bets are off.

On a walk up from Dam Square to our Tram stop we encountered a group of about thirty (Possibly less, I didn’t count properly) purple t-shirted women shouting and singing about women’s rights, leaving me to think that Mrs S and I have done more than all these shouty types, having raised two successful and independent daughters who are making their own way in the world, which is a better kind of feminism than all the ‘third wave’ dogma currently being touted by activists. A silver haired photographer was dancing ahead of this annoyingly loud group, taking pictures from a high angle that would make the thirty shouters look like hundreds. News management in action.

2 thoughts on “Amsterdam”

  1. I have never believed in Feminism. This caused me a few problems when I was young and married to a Yorkshire Man, having been dragged up by a stepmother who definitely wore the pants in our house. What a shock it was to discover that some men weren’t as pliable as my father. I survived for many a long year and finally bought my own house in the depths of rural Brittany because it was very cheap. It’s mine. I live alone. I pay the bills. This does not make me a Feminist.

    Like

    1. Elena, I’m all for equality of everyone, but it has to be merit based. Anything else is just false. That’s how we brought our two up and they’re out there successfully competing in majority male based professions.

      Like

Comments are closed.