The punishments will continue..

Until morale improves… goes the old joke. Well doesn’t it feel like that every time you see the ‘news’? Like someone is trying to guilt trip everyone into supporting something when a more rational person would look up and say “Hang on a minute…”

All those who voted for BREXIT could be forgiven for thinking that the current UK administration are cocking things up on purpose, and the Government created curbs on movement (Artificially low speed limits & cameras), biased Policing and focus on behavioural control will only end when the rebellious populace begs to be allowed back into the EU at any price. Well that occurred to me, as I was thinking how I haven’t been to blighty for around four years now. Nor am I likely to go any time soon.

But then again the seemingly deliberate attempts to drive us all into the poor house are all across the ‘civilised’ West. Over inflated energy prices, the cost of travel through the roof, dodgy ‘vaccines’, scaremongering to ‘save the planet’, which is utter bollocks. While real problems like pollution and overfishing go ignored.

The war on car drivers and motorcyclists continues under the mistaken (Some would say delusional) belief that man made emissions of CO2, methane or whatever control the weather. No reasonable person of any modest science based education should believe this, as the much touted predictions have simply never come true. You do not need to be a ‘scientist’ to see this.

Then the self same people pushing this agenda say they want to have most domesticated animals (Cattle, sheep, pigs, horses, dogs, cats) slaughtered to reduce their ’emissions’. Once they’ve done (and there is no difference in weather patterns) that they’ll probably go after all the rest of the odd and even toed ungulates like Bison, Buffalo, Deer, Gazelle, Goat, Ibex, Wildebeest and Zebra’s.

So plan that visit to the Masai Maru while you’re still allowed to travel, it may be your last opportunity to see real wildlife (Apart from the odd stuffed Lion or Hyena). Because the only sane conclusion is that the people pushing the agenda that only man is vile are completely effing crazy. And our political classes are (on the whole) too short sighted or cowardly to look past the well funded NGO lobbyists.

For my part I’ve other fish to fry. The rest of the world will do what it will do, and no amount of impassioned outpourings on my part will change it. I’m just not getting involved. Things here in the wilder west are settling down now and I’m in the process of nurturing my greenhouse, getting set up for colder months and ready for Winter pruning.

I’ve already got another twenty Crack Willow ready for planting out when the ground dries out a bit. Plus half a dozen Ash seedlings. They will be going out to provide some windbreaks up in the top meadow. No walnut seedlings just yet, but I live in hope.

I’m also looking at a new pocket knife for general use around the property. It’ll get left at home mostly, but a good stout little blade is always a worthwhile tool to have around when you’re working.

Won’t take it with me if I’m going away of course. City and transit Police get funny ideas about even the most innocent motives nowadays, and besides, I don’t really need a pocket knife if I’m travelling. Might pick a souvenir one up and stuff it in the main luggage on the way home if I find one I like the look of, but not on my person or in my carry on bag.

On the plus side, the new garden machinery arrived and cutting begins when the weather dries a little. There’s a fair bit of ground to clear. I’ll also be negotiating with neighbours who owe me some favours for a few other things.

Then I’m going to get some new wooden shafts for my little recurve once I’ve cut the flat section of ground along the western boundary, which will form a nice fifty metre long archery range. New shafts are a must because my old arrows are a bit over used and long ago went in the recycle bin as nary a one would fly straight any more. There’s an archery goods store about twenty minutes away, so I’ll be paying them a visit in the run up to Christmas.

In the meantime the punishments will continue until we do what we’re jolly well told. Which is worse, the punishments or the insane goals toward which we are being pushed? I leave that to people’s own judgement. I know where I stand.

2 thoughts on “The punishments will continue..”

  1. Opinel knives are good. Nice and simple and can be locked open or closed. The normal steel blades are good quality, keep an edge fit for shaving but of course subject to slight corrosive staining.
    The stainless steel ones use steel from a quality Swedish blade maker and keep an edge and really are stainless.
    I use mine for slicing food, paring wood – everything.

    Like

    1. Did look at those. I was even recommended to buy one by a Breton friend. However, in the end I went for a tool that fitted my hand precisely. Might get an Opinel next year when I’m over in France. They’re a bit cheaper than Ireland.

      Like

Comments are closed.