Surprise, surprise

Well it’s the Irish countryside, out in the wilder west. Got home after a trip to the shops to find a dozen cattle in my yard, shepherded by a harassed looking farmer. So I did what any landowner should do, rolled up my sleeves and tried to help out.

The cattle had other ideas, they did not want to go where he wanted. He opened a gate, they turned and fled. The cattle were not playing ball, or any other game. So for five minutes we tried to send them the way they should go, to wit, out of my front gate and along the road to the correct field. The cattle split up and trotted off, determined not to go where they were bidden. I tried to get them to turn around, but when an animal that size decides it’s going thataway, there’s not a hell of a lot you can do about it. At last the farmers dog sorted out the herd leader and got the recalcitrant animals out through my other gate. Specifically the one they came in from.

“Welcome to the countryside.” The farmer called over his shoulder as he jog trotted after his beasts. I gave him a wave. No harm no foul. We parted on a smile. Maybe next time he tries to go solo herding his animals, he knows he can give me a shout first, so I can close my gates in advance.