A touch of snow

Well it’s snowing this morning, just a lick that will be gone by lunchtime. Nothing unseasonal, but enough to put the kaibosh on any non-essential work. I suppose I could put the new four metre lintel up on my main workshop doors, but I’d prefer not to do it in the wet, even though fence post preserver has been liberally applied, and I have enough damp proof membrane to keep the timber rot free for the next twenty odd years.

Might sashay out and do it later. Snow does have that effect on me nowadays. Come the dryer months I’ll be out all hours, but at the moment I just don’t feel like it. Fixed all the weatherboarding yesterday and I’ll need a twenty five metre of electrical cable to wire up the shed ring mains from the new distribution board. Then I’ll need to set up a couple of external junction boxes for a power feed out to another shed. But not today. Too cold, too wet, and I just can’t be arsed.

I see the powers that be are complaining about all the ‘misinformation’ on anti-social media, then compound their error by dishing out ‘malinformation’ (a.k.a blatant propaganda.) They tell us it’s to ‘save the planet’, which is complete bollocks. The collective governments of Europe can’t even control illegal immigration by turning round the arrivals without documents at the point of entry.

On that topic; as someone who has done a fair bit of international travel, I am amazed at the number of people who arrive at an airport without passports or the correct travel visa. Personal anecdote; before we got our second citizenships, Mrs S and I had renewed our work visa’s. Hers arrived. Mine was late, and while we were in blighty my visa ran out, by three days. Because my new work permit was active, but I hadn’t the right piece of paper with me, the airline tried to tell me they would not let me on the flight back to Canada. I turned around and told them that my visa had been renewed, but we were both traveling on my wife’s visa until my paperwork arrived. So they had to let me on the flight.

Now the airlines have to challenge people because apparently the law says that if a given airline allows travelers without the proper travel documentation onto a flight, the airline in question has to return said travelers to point of origin. Now if the same international travel rules still apply, then how come someone can turn up at immigration without the right documents, when the airlines have a legal obligation to send them home, at cost to the airline in question?

Given that you have to show a passport to get a boarding pass, and then again at the departure gate, how do these undocumented people legally board a flight? Or do they break the law by destroying their passports after boarding?

Anyone know? Have governments ‘relaxed’ these rules and why?

What the hell, it’s a snowy day. I’m going to hunker down in the kitchen and create some sauces for our newly adopted carnivorous lifestyle. I’ve cracked home made pork cracking in our air fryer, so I’m going to have a go at making some carbohydrate free flavourings today.