Blood, tears, toil and sweat.

Well only a minor scrape, demolition dust bringing tears to my eyes, the creaking sensation from under utilised muscle being given the treatment and a significant trickle of moisture down my back in a surprisingly warm Springtime Mayo sun.

Wall one is proving a tough nut to crack because someone used a 1:1 mix of sand and cement for the mortar instead of the more traditional 4 sand and 1 cement mix for block work. This has cured into a substance tougher than the breezeblocks it was used to bind together. And when you’re trying to take a wall down block by block, it makes for hard work, even with a Bosch SDS hammer drill, lump hammer and brickies chisel. Even with drilling holes in the joint and dumping White Vinegar or Muriatic acid down the holes to weaken the mortar. See story so far in pictures below.

It just makes for slow going, that’s all. If I had a 5 kilo sledgehammer and a Hilti breaker I dare say I’d be moving much faster, but I don’t have either of those so I’m not. Although I do have a 115mm stone cutter disc in my box of tricks. Will try that out this afternoon. Cut, not drill or chisel.

Anyway, in parting I’d like to share an old bit of ‘nonsense’ poetry from the late great Spike Milligan. It nails a certain mindset perfectly.

Dr David Mantle

Dr David Mantle went to Bintle Bontle Boo,

To see the tonsils of a man he hardly even knew,

Dr David Mantle got to Bintle Bontle Boo,

And the man with tonsils said, “How do you do you do?

Say “Ah!” said Dr Mantle then “I can’t believe it’s true!”

“You have three tonsils hanging where there should be only two!”

“Only three!” The patient cried, “Oh my, what shall I do?”

“There should be fifty hanging there! Oh dear, tut-tut boo hoo!”

Doctor David Mantle fled from Bintle Bontle Boo

“I think that man was mad.” He said.

And I agree. Do you?

Guesses in the comments as to whom I am referring, or what.

4 thoughts on “Blood, tears, toil and sweat.”

  1. Might help if you deep score along the mortar lines with the stone disc, then give the blocks a smack. Same as the ‘score and snap’ method of cutting tiles. The dust will be incredible though. A 4lb lump hammer might be less stressful than a sledge. I’d also recommend keeping one of these around, its one of those things that’s not often used but when you need it, its priceless. Mine is getting overused right now.

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/185212690496?epid=1754419162&hash=item2b1f896040:g:9TwAAOSw04dfhcmD

    Like

    1. Tried it this afternoon. The mortar is too strong. I’ll have to cut deeper. However, I put three drill holes in several joints and filled them with white vinegar. It’s surprisingly effective.

      Like

      1. If the wall has been built that strong, the mortar is probably stronger than the blocks so demolishing without damage to the blocks is likely impossible as the concrete will crack before the mortar. I have one more idea though, just trying to be helpful.

        If you pick a block in the middle of the middle row, chain drill all the way around it keeping the holes as close as possible and knock it out. Then if you can get a car jack in the hole, this will take out the two blocks above. Looking at your pics, you would have to do this about 2 or 3 times along the wall but once the vertical joints are broken it makes the rest easier. The bottom row, or any blocks not supported on either side would probably give up with a hammer once one block is out. To avoid damaging the blocks with the hammer, place a piece of board in between.

        Like

Comments are closed.