Moving

I’ve been thinking of ditching Gmail for some time because of the privacy issues, and the address may have been compromised, so my Google profile, such as it is, will be dwindling until it is no more and all that lovely free advertising will gradually disappear. Then there’s Youtube, used by the world and it’s partner of choice. No, scrub that, used by the world and his wife. The creeping censorship of YouTube, Google, Twitter and Facebook has just become so blatant that the services are becoming a constant irritant, with content taken down at what seems the faintest complaint. What used to be practical and democratic is now seemingly the tool of every petty online tyrant, so, I’m voting with my feet, changing to a different service and using other means to view online videos and talk to other people. Might even put up a few myself.

My Gravatar has now changed as I was bored with the old one, and once I’ve sorted out the new email addresses, my old contact details will gradually be discontinued. Memo to self, pass details on the the Martin Scriblerus team. The blog will continue, but I may do a bit of a redesign, tweak some of the widgets, delete a few. Improve security. Just enough to have a bit of a Summer clearance between sitting out in the sunshine, reading, sipping a little wine and generally chilling before the rush starts again.

It’s Sunday and the sun is shining, the sky is a brilliant blue and it’s too nice to be indoors. Time for coffee.

Update 2:30pm PST: Aaaaand in the spirit of self improvement, we’ve just upgraded our Internet connection to one that is (Allegedly) four times the speed of our previous one. Time from conversation about connection speed to Modem installation (Which I did – dead easy plug ‘n pray) and wi-fi reboot, less than 1 hour. Thank you Shaw Internet, who are our local cable company. Would have gone down the route of an even faster connection, but as that would hand over the security and management of our internal network via one of their all singing, all dancing combined modem and wi-fi routers to an external agency, we said no thank you.

We have wine, and the sun is still shining.

Another update; Apparently ‘hate crime’ trolling is now subject to investigation by the Met But who defines the ‘crime’? And against whom is one thing a crime, and not against another? Now there’s a dangerous road to travel. This is going to get messy.

The sun continues to shine. At least in the real world. If anyone wants me, I will be working in the garden.

One thought on “Moving”

Comments are closed.