Today I am…

I wrote this post two days ago, but fell asleep before completion because I was so damn tired. I blame noisy hotel air conditioners waking me up in the wee small hours. Never mind.

Today I am……. Well, er (Cough, splutter, cough) very young indeed and my inner geek has been let out to play. Taking me back to the days when my heroes wore names like Carpenter, Glenn, Grissom, Schirra, Armstrong and Aldrin. Not for young Bill Sticker the dream of being a mere driver of steaming trains or Omnibuses, my dreams, then and now have always been among the stars, away from the cosy (and sometimes not so comfortable) security of dear old Mother Earth. So this particular little days outing connected a memory trail that almost brought a tear to my cynical old eyes.

For me it was a boyhood dream come true, a day out at Cape Kennedy. Number two on my lifetime bucket list. Rockets, capsules, sound and fury on a beautiful Floridian day. I have touched a rock from another world, sat in a mockup Space Shuttle cockpit and felt how intuitively the controls fell to hand. I’ve had so many pleasurable flashbacks to my less tainted self today that frankly chums, I’ve almost (But not quite) rediscovered my boyhood innocence. Which is a sensation I thought I’d never feel again. For me this almost Proustian sensation brought both joy and melancholy. Joy at feeling what I felt as a boy without the patina of years, melancholy in knowing that certain things will never come to pass for me.

What can I say? Anyway, it amused me at the time, and perhaps that is all we can expect from our little sojourns on this earth. A little gratification, a few smiles and accepting that we are but mortal flesh. I will never be an astronaut, well, unless some bloody miracle occurs and my peculiarly eclectic skill set is the only thing that can save humankind, and I have to be shot into orbit. Nah. I’ve helped raise a new generation who may produce another who will live my dream for me, and that at least makes me smile with a little parental pride.

Anyway, speaking of smiles; this Trump fellow, hasn’t he just upset the Republicans political apple cart? Not only knocking it over, but making apple sauce and pies out of the debris. This with over four hundred delegates still in the wind. So much for #nevertrump and other such online campaigns. Hashtags which seem to be cutting very little ice with grass roots Republicans, and the groundswell seems to show no sign of letting up. I think it’s a blue collar revolution folks. The party elites don’t like it because all their cosy sinecures may just disappear down the plughole. Maybe it’s the future for a new brand of politics, taking power from the hands of the distant and unaccountable. And not before time.

TTFN

One thought on “Today I am…”

  1. You OK, Bill? Nothing from you lately. (Perhaps you shouldn’t have pushed that button marked ‘Launch’ when you visited Cape Canaveral!)

    Like

Comments are closed.