Time travel for beginners

Bit of a breezy drive today, and a few bursts of rain as we were clearing the Eastbound pass out of Albuquerque. Which saved me getting the car washed. Lots of crosswind as we drove along I-40, which made keeping our ever-steady little SUV on track a bit awkward, and we appear to have made it from rough desert and prairie into farmland. One of the issues we’ve come up against on the Eastbound leg of this epic trip has been time zones. We’re currently two, or is it three, hours adrift of our usual Pacific Standard Time. Time travel diagramNo, I’ve just checked and it’s definitely two. At present we’re on Central Time. What threw a spanner in the works of the normally efficient Sticker travel machine was Arizona, which has not adopted Daylight Savings Time, and thus thrown our calculations off by an hour.

So tonight we’re overnighting in Amarillo, catching up with the laundry and resetting our clocks before scooting off to Abilene. Mrs S has elected to take on the washing tonight as she says I never do it properly. Which suits me just fine. Sometimes being an ‘unreconstructed male’ as she is wont to describe me, has it’s advantages.

So we’re in Texas for the next week. Yee-haw! Mrs S has decided that we’re making an early start for Abilene in the morning so she can hit the Malls. Ah. Bugger. Was that a Tornado warning for just north and east of town? I think I just saw a pillar of cloud pass by in that direction and the girl on hotel reception says to head for ground floor if the warning sirens go off. Ooo-er.

2 thoughts on “Time travel for beginners”

  1. Good for the sturdy citizens of Arizona! Not because I think D.S.T’s a bad idea, but their decision shows a quirky individuality which should be encouraged.
    In Texas, eh? You going to get one of them 10 gallon hats, pardner? (Or 45.5 litre hats, as I expect you may call it nowadays. Doesn’t have the same ring, somehow.)

    Like

Comments are closed.