Due South

Due SouthI’ve spent most of my day today driving south to Sacramento from mid-Oregon. By my reckoning that’s a shade over 822 Miles in two days. Not bad considering. I could have done it all in one hop if I was on my own and feeling masochistic, but frankly me dears, nowadays I’ve gotten used to being comfortable. I’ve served my time, and if I had to do it all again, frankly I’d have given the job to somebody as gullible as I once was.

One of the things I will say for our southern cousins, they’re far more switched on as drivers.  They pay attention and move over sharpish if you’re closing on their tailgates a little on the quick side.  I had nothing to grumble about.  Apart from the Satnav going AWOL just as we hit the city limits and the minor drama that unfolded.  Yes, and rogue Wi-Fi connections that just wouldn’t.  Connect that is.  It all got fixed, and our secure VPN’s are doing their thing the way they should.  So everything is kind of under control, as much as it ever is.

What else?  Oh yes, it’s raining.  In Sacramento, California of all places.  And if you’d been paying attention to your geography teacher (Or Albert Hammond, see below), you would be aware that it very rarely rains in Southern California.  Even the desert areas look quite green.

Off to the Napa valley tomorrow to taste some wine and enjoy all the other stuff out there.

TTFN

4 thoughts on “Due South”

  1. Interesting! Of all the US states, I found Cali to be the worst for driving – Texas and Oklahoma were a delight.

    Like

  2. Interesting remark about the general standard of American driving; it’s generally slagged off in the books I’ve read. Tom Clancy, for example, had one of his Arabian black hats comment on it at length.
    Napa Valley, eh? Lucky bleeder!

    Like

Comments are closed.