Blowouts on I-5

Long day yesterday, longer than we’d anticipated because of hanging around for some albeit very civil customs questions and another six and a half hours solid driving on I-5.  One of the things we did encounter was witnessing three truck blowouts, one of which I caught on camera. Here comes the boom  Big clouds of smoke and shredded truck tyre shooting across the highway.  Lots of swerving from nearby vehicles.  Bridges that make any on the M25 look small. while we were passing through I took some pictures of the northbound traffic as we were passing through Portland.  Reminded me of a Friday afternoon on the A40 out of late 1990’s London. Almost total gridlock.  No idea what the Westway’s like nowadays, but I do remember once taking an hour to go five miles.  Nowhere near that bad on our southbound run.  I-5 is also getting quite rutted around Portland, and being a concrete surface on that stretch can be pretty rough on the old rubber.  So tyre checks every morning and stop are a must.

We made our hotel just before seven in the evening and got directed to a very nice brew pub where free shot glass sized samples were provided to assist us in deciding what beers to have.  They take their brewing seriously in Oregon.  For those still thinking it’s all Coors and Budweiser, think again.

Parting shot.  Our accents mark us out for the curious; “From the UK. huh?” A portly Oregonian said.
“Yes, but we’re Canadian now.” Mrs S replied.
“That so?  Lot of people say they’re moving to Canada if Trump wins.”
“That might be a bit of a devils bargain.  We have Trudeau.  Are there a lot of heated conversations about Trump?” I asked diplomatically, not revealing my own feelings on the matter.
“In the media, yeah.  Elsewhere not so much. I’m an independent, I’m not bound to vote Republican or Democrat.”
Hmm. Interesting…

3 thoughts on “Blowouts on I-5”

  1. Good to see you are Blogging and letting us know what is happening in real time.
    I wish I had Blogged during my trip to Bergerac from Bittany. But I suppose I thought that no one would be interested.

    So please keep it going if it doesn’t intrude too much.

    Like

    1. Elena; shall do. Tonight finds me down in Sacramento, California after a few experiences with the SatNav going AWOL just as we were getting into town, and Mrs S’s subsequent attack of the vapours, as she was navigating at the time.

      Like

Comments are closed.