Devil, meet details

Finalising the last main bookings on our road trip. I’ve shoehorned in Bonneville Salt flats (Followed by a really good car wash in Wells, Nevada), then hacking homeward via Twin Falls and Pendleton in mid May. It’s been a lot of hard work to line up. Then there’s an exam to do today and some packing. Mrs S is getting a bit stressed out, but I’m just plodding along, dealing with every issue the moment it hits and whacking the metaphor firmly out of the stadium.

Today it was our mail hold service going AWOL. Fortunately I’ve handed the Post Office the correct details which their clerk had not put on the computer, after we had filled in the forms correctly. Apparently the clerk had failed to untick a box on her rinky dinky little computer. So I have to deal with ‘customer service’ and waste valuable time fixing someone else’s mistake.  It’s all little stuff.  Checking the exclusions in our travel insurances.  About the only thing I haven’t done is make out a Will.  I do hope that won’t be needed, oh well, it won’t be my problem.  Our travel insurance has a clause for repatriation and burial anyway.

What else? The USB in-car charger unit is sitting on my desk awaiting installation tomorrow so we can charge all our electronics on the move on this epic twenty five stop trip. So long as there is gas in the tank, we’ll have a larger electronic signature than an aircraft carrier group. Am I bothered at my lack of electronic invisibility? No. All I will be doing is recording our thoughts and experiences along the way. For security I’ve signed up for a secure VPN service and keep my anti-virus, anti-spyware and firewall up to date. Hell, if anyone wants to follow me around, just buy me lunch occasionally and we’ll call it quits.

My biggest IT issue is that there are a lot of people out there who should not be allowed to play with grown up toys. Including Google’s massive “Mic Drop” April Fools cock-up. Newsflash Google; April Fools gags are supposed to be funny. You know, make people laugh. Screwing with a core function of a business and personal service isn’t remotely amusing, it’s fucking annoying and makes Google like a useless bunch of eHippies.

Notwithstanding, all we have to do on Thursday is get up on time and get Downtown to the Coho. No doubt one of Mr Horton’s emporium of degustatory delights or similar will be getting a visit en route for two large Double Doubles and some blood sugar enhancers. A.k.a Coffee and Donuts.

Sorry to keep harping on about this, but this Trump guy; I thought I’d actually check him out and see what he was all about first hand rather than trust all the Op-eds and propaganda currently polluting the Interweb. Is he really the ranting monster that the mainstream would have us believe? So far the answer coming back from my observation at least, is a loud, resounding ‘No’. He may get a bit repetitive, loud and messianic, but everything the guy says and stands for, like controlling US immigration, upping America’s game as a negotiating power and being anti-US involvement in middle eastern wars (“We made things worse”) just seem like common sense. He doesn’t like the sinister Transatlantic Trade deal, as currently structured, so that’s another plus. As for pandering to special interest groups, like the man says, he’s not a politician. He owes them nothing. What all the Spads and political class are panicking about is that if Trump gets voted in, they will have lost their influence, that’s why he’s getting such a spectacularly bad press. All the special advisers, insiders and hangers on stand to lose big time under a Trump Presidency. So of course he’s under media attack from some pretty heavy guns. The problem with these attacks is that the mainstream are fighting the previous media war. Which is why his support is growing.

Social Science degreeIf asked, I’d say that despite all the protestations to the contrary, Donald Trump is no more racist or sexist than anyone else on this planet, well, apart from a bunch of virtue signalling whiners with useless ‘Social Science’, ‘Gender Studies’ and PPE University degrees who dominate the twatter feeds with their nauseating protestations of how much ‘nicer’ than everyone else they are. Which is often so far from the truth of the matter their views have taken on an Alice Through the Looking Glass unreality all of their own.

Minion Quote migraineRegarding Twitter, do I even have a twitter feed? I think I signed up for one to get the ‘breaking news’ feeds on my sidebar, but that’s all. I never log in to it or put any ‘twats’ out there. Did sign up for Farsebook but I’ve killed my account, or at least tried to, not once but twice. Anything else? I have a Disqus account and a few others to sign on for various comment threads and forums, but that’s it. My contributions are sporadic at best, and my attitude can be summed up by my good mate Dave, senior Minion and Acting Chief Sarcasm Officer at Sticker Enterprises Inc.

TTFN

Bill

