Not a lot of people know that

I recently posted this Tom Scott video about Paris and ‘Paris syndrome’. What Tom doesn’t tell you is that the Parisian padlock craze isn’t just on one steel mesh guard rail bridge over the Seine. Around Ile de la cite, it’s all of them.

Seriously. On a sunny day they glitter like they’ve been gilded. Nor is this phenomena constrained to Paris. According to legend, this ‘tradition’ began in Serbia prior to WW1. Moscow has special wrought iron ‘trees’ for those determined to display their undying commitment by shackling an overpriced cheap lock to a piece of steel railing. I say ‘overpriced’ because some street entrepreneurs set up shop at either end of the bridge when Les Flics aren’t around, and flog locks at thrice the price and more to unsuspecting lovebirds. As well as the cheap sheradised models of La Tour Eiffel. One detail of which I’d forgotten.

Around premiere etage of said steel song are listed some of the great 18th & 19th Century scientists (Lagrange, Coulomb, Ampere) only half of whom I could remember from school and college. Everyone in the Anglosphere knows about Newton, Faraday and Hooke, but these men were also intellectual giants of their day, laying much of the groundwork for modern technology.

Meanwhile, back on Earth; just around midnight last night I was awakened by the noise of sudden heavy rain accompanied by a good deal of shouting outside in the street. I rolled over muttering “Noisy bloody kids.” and went back to sleep, thinking it was some of our less worldly neighbours celebrating the rain. This morning on my way down to the Boulangerie, I noted one small storefront had lost its plate glass door and a good chunk of a tempered glass window. Hmm. Don’t know if the street noise and damage were related, all I know is what I see.

2 thoughts on “Not a lot of people know that”

Comments are closed.