Orwell strikes again

Once a day, I mosey on over to Anthony Watts excellent wattsupwiththat.com website and read about the various academic papers purporting to ‘prove’ the concept of Man made Carbon Dioxide driven climate disaster. I am no genius, but whenever I go to the abstracts of these papers and read them, I’m always left with a sense of WTF! How can so many supposed mega brainy folk come up with such insanity? Are they so bogged down mentally that they cannot see it’s a crock? Fortunately, I came across a quotation of George Orwells from his ‘Notes on Nationalism’ essay (1945) yesterday that helped me make sense of the situation.

“One has to belong to the intelligentsia to believe things like that: no ordinary man could be such a fool.”

There can be no other explanation. Good old George.

