New kit

Well it happens.  Stuff wears out.  Registry gets clogged.  Bits of code get corrupted, applications and browsers require ever more memory.  My old desktop ‘pooter has been retired to where it will no longer be asked to do what it was never designed for.  Now in its superceded dotage it will serve out its last days before silicon heaven as an offline backup server.  (Of course there’s a Silicon Heaven, otherwise where would all the dead calculators go?)

The new machine is a modest but workmanlike laptop, and a new wireless router has been purchased and configured.  A Wireless printer will also shortly serve our little home / office network.

The difference in performance is quite startling.  Even the most weighty web pages appear in a trice, I can work anywhere in the house or hopefully out on our spacious deck when it warms up a bit. Until I adapt my typing to the keyboard, my speed and accuracy will be a little reduced, but seeing as the old machine was responding so slowly that I was typing faster than text could appear, there will be little appreciable difference.

Dare I say it, a spring is returning to my step.  The light dawns and all the clouds that loured upon this house will soon be fading bad memories.  Well, after my Mother in law is returned to England in late May that is.   Oh, yes, and that other minor matter….  Hmm.  Okay. (Warm knowing chuckle)

