Watch carefully….

Here’s a video. Why do people do amazing stuff for free? Write tremendously useful software (Linux, Apache), create forums for discussion, inform, enlighten and blow the whistle on misdeeds? Without hope (at least in my case) of monetary reward?

Because they want to be useful in their own eyes, maybe?

I’ve said it many times before in my critiques of the top down model of UK management. Free, self directed people do better work than drones. Interesting point of view, n’est-ce pas? Don’t employ, engage…..

Can’t see it catching on….. unfortunately. Too many ‘leaders’ in the way.

2 thoughts on “Watch carefully….”

  1. Bill,

    I have seen quite a few of these and they never fail to amaze me.

    I agree with you. I think leaders do stifle creation and they confuse a huge salary with satisfied personnel. Most of those I see in my organisation who are grossly overpaid or over-bonused are dull and listless. They exhaust themselves to get where they are going and have nothing left in the tank at the end of the week.

    As for me, I earn a middle income and would be quite happy with it if I wasn’t taxed to death. It sucks all the enjoyment out of work knowing that at the end of the month a thief will take 50%. And then squander it.

    Maybe that’s part of the reason I do what I do? Also in the hope that any success I have in withholding more of my earnings can be copied by others.

    The risk of failure is high, but I’ll crack on. Because, bizarrely, I enjoy it.

    CR.

    Like

Comments are closed.