Wind turbine noise

There is lots of Interweb ‘noise’ on this subject, specifically to do with a thing called ‘infrasound’. On a casual google there are a number of fairly cursory looking studies that look like they are based on single measurements. However, I did come across this rather more in depth article from India on the physiological and psychological effects of low frequency noise. Rather than just focus on infrasound and thereby miss the point, it discusses associated phenomena such as steady tone and intermittent noise, and the evidence of ill effects. I’ve served time on noisy shop floors, and understand things like pain thresholds, and the irritability an erratic low frequency noise can engender.

I don’t normally do formal citations, as this is only a blog, but this study which is about industrial low frequency sound (As opposed to the supposedly ‘eco-friendly’ and therefore ‘harmless’ noise from Wind Turbines) but today I will;
Mahendra Prashanth KV, Venugopalachar S. The possible influence of noise frequency components on the health of exposed industrial workers – A review. Noise Health [serial online] 2011 [cited 2012 Sep 13];13:16-25. Available from: http://www.noiseandhealth.org/text.asp?2011/13/50/16/73996

Also of interest:

Schust M. Effects of low frequency noise up to 100 Hz. Noise Health [serial online] 2004 [cited 2012 Sep 13];6:73-85. Available from: http://www.noiseandhealth.org/text.asp?2004/6/23/73/31662

I wonder whether anyone has actually done a formal assessment to see if the noise profile of wind turbines cross correlates with the above research. From what I’ve seen so far, I think not.

Anyway. Day off from the day job, and I’m going fishing. Just me, some rocks, my road and lures, the Otters, Sea Lions, Orcas and Seals; and maybe even a fish.

One thought on “Wind turbine noise”

Comments are closed.