Almost ready

New bowstrings for my favourite fifty inch recurve are almost shot in. Have ten shafts to be cleaned and refletched. Need inserts for readily converting field points to broadheads. Spent my evening shooting to test out how hard and flat my bow still shot and the initial results are encouraging.

A little more practice and I think I’ll be ready for the start of the hunting season in September. Excellent. I’m looking forward to it.

By the way, just in case there’s a little disbelief out there. Since I’m not working today, I’ve been doing a little prep work. (See photo) Centre foreground is an arrow in my one and only fletching jig along with some old XX75 Easton Alloy shafts cleaned and ready for fletching with glue, pliers etc. The 50 inch recurve is one of these The sharper eyed will see the ‘Quicks Archery’ logo on the belly of the bow itself. Had it for over twenty years, man and dog, and it still shoots sweet, fast and flat. Cost me the princely sum of forty pounds back in 1987. Might only be a forty five pound draw weight, but ballistics beat brute force any day.

2 thoughts on “Almost ready”

Comments are closed.